The Great Pretender

c'mon Baba

“Just pretend, Baba.” So they did. They pretended to be on an adventure. Her notepad had the maps they would consult before setting out in their next run across the playground.

The playground was full of toddlers and their mom’s, a scattered grandparent and a dad or two. All watching, pushing the swings, rocking a baby while the older ones played. But the great pretender, kk’s Pwince, came to play. She called him Captain and she was his assistant.

Another group of girls looking her age were running about. As they passed by one said to kk, “Want to play with us?”. “No” she said without consideration and off she ran with her Baba, her Prince and today, her Captain.

Before long a the little girls had joined the pretend party with kk’s Baba the leader of handing out the birthday cake.

Pretending is such great fun. When you’re little. To enter their world and be welcome, a gift.

12 thoughts on “The Great Pretender

    • Debby says:

      Smiles-always good, Lou!
      His tats were a surprise to us. He had always been against them. I saw a picture of him on Facebook and saw part of it under his shirt. He didn’t know other people could post pictures on him on Facebook. It was all pretty funny. He had told his sister about it but not us. It was well done. It’s just SO BIG! πŸ˜€ That boy has always brought surprises to us πŸ˜‰

  1. iamnotshe says:

    Innocent and sweet! I feel like i just had a romp on the playground. KK is beautiful. The Captain looks so happy and proud. Thanks so much for sharing this! Off to Iowa in one hour to see the older generation. Have a great weekend if i don’t see you around friend πŸ™‚ XO mel

    • Debby says:

      I’m quite thrilled to be the observer of their wonderful relationship. Enjoy Iowa, Mel. We’re in St. Augustine the next few days for a conference. Busy month for us.

  2. Step On a Crack says:

    OH BOY!

    Smiles galore here and HERE!!

    Thank you for posting such joy!

    I gotta say I love your boys Tats too. Mel? You think we are going big or going home?

    They are beautifully done and, well, huge!

    Thank you for the smile..

    XO Jen

    • Debby says:

      πŸ˜€ My boys arms are big too! He is so disciplined with his physical regimen. It’s good because he’s one of those all in or all out. At 31, he still keeps me on my toes.

  3. judikruis says:

    yes – you and your family are beautiful!! I love the open imagining of children. Some days I find it easier to be them than adults πŸ˜€ ….like a child…. Peace to you and yours

    • Debby says:

      Judi, Henry has that sense of play more than me. When it’s my turn I get the paints, paper punches and glue sticks out with her. And try to refrain from telling her where to glue everything πŸ˜‰

    • Debby says:

      Jeff, my daughter called this morning to tell me kk was missing her MeMe (me) but even more, her Baba. Of course she is. He’s her Pwince πŸ˜€

We'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.