A Week of Passion

A section of the prayer path (labyrinth)

The beginning of Holy Week or Passion Week in the Church. Growing up in The Salvation Army church Easter season meant Palm Sunday celebration, Good Friday service and always a Sunrise Service on Easter Sunday.

Then came Ron and Carol. They were our pastors for five years merging some more traditional parts of the “church” with Salvation Army tradition. They brought a deeper meaning and purpose to this time of year. We had Ash Wednesday service (even though Ron managed to singe his eyebrows and set off smoke alarms) and began to recognize the period of Lent. They added to that a Seder Feast during Holy Week and we learned the historical significance of the Last Supper and saw the bridge between the Old and New.

Seder plate

The Passover Candles

It’s curious this week would also be referred to as Passion Week. Again, we’ve corrupted a word to make it more salacious rather than its definition of a strong emotion which can also be anger and hatred. In recent years I’ve heard too many young people talk about their passion and the question asked by speakers and leaders “What’s your passion?” Really? Passion? Such a strong word for people who are fickle and can have strong emotions over an ice cream flavor. How often I throw the words “love” and “hate” around. Strong words ascribed to trivial things. My passion pales in comparison to Christ who I envision being passion. His emotions the deepest. His love for us, more than humanly possible. His hate of sin…..as deep and passionate.

We have many things in place this week to introduce the men to an interactive week of remembering or learning the significance of this particular week.  Our Palm Sunday celebration will commence with several men carrying palm branches down the aisles as Prepare Ye, from Godspell, plays. We’ll stand together proclaiming “Hosanna! who to He who comes in the name of the Lord”. But that will just be the beginning.

The Center of the Prayer Path - a place of contemplation

The beginning of a week we pray will bring an understanding to all of us of the sacrifice God made by giving His Son. What an awesome opportunity for us to share with them. To share in community. This is the true communion.

13 thoughts on “A Week of Passion

  1. Step On a Crack says:

    Debby!

    I love this post and your take on Passion.

    I too am looking forward to Holy Week. This is whenCatholics pull out all the stops!

    It is both a joyous and sorrow filled week.

    That is as it should be.

    Have a Blessed week,

    XO Jen

    • Debby says:

      I like that, Jen. Pulling out all the stops 🙂 I agree, the joy and sorrow necessary this week. I think it can help all of us with our personal healing. Glad to be walking through it with you. Peace to you. xo

  2. iamnotshe says:

    I’ve got to get into this week more … i think the rituals would give me strength and calm.

    I love the photos. I feel like i just attended a service!!! Who better to LEAD the service but OUR DEBBY!

    I’m up for feeling the goodness as well as the sadness. I REALLY AM!!! I’ll count the blessings and accept the non-blessings. XO MELIS

  3. Debbie says:

    Beautiful, my friend.
    This week, especially, I miss being an Episcopal. It was a somber week of services culminating in a joyous celebration of the resurrection!
    Thank you for leading us through the week with you. Since I can never leave the rig, you are my passion week services. 😀
    Thank you!
    Debbie

    • Debby says:

      How wonderful to share this with you! I was thinking today how much I’d love to podcast our Good Friday service but I should have thought of that a while back 😦 Wednesday we’ll celebrate the Seder meal. So very interesting, at least to me. I’ll try not to bore 😉

    • Debby says:

      Judi, it can be so hard for me to still comprehend. I suppose because I fall short of the all part. Thankful he never has failed to give His all.

We'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.