It’s Yours Not Mine

After nights of waking at 3 AM, of going out to the couch so i won’t wake him, of laying there sleepless with the usual trick of reading to lull me back to sleep, with even that failing me, you’d think I’d learn. 

You’d think I’d learn that the thoughts that wake me and occupy my mind, you’d think I’d learn those concerns are yours not mine.

The employee issues at work, the fatal overdose that was so unexpected of one with much promise, the grief that has become a silent companion, these are your cares, your concerns your problems, not mine.

But I will take them from you. Again. And again. I will hold them tight-fisted and I will lose sleep and depression will attempt to return because I’ve got this God. Life needs another flesh and blood life to take charge and step up and do the hard things. I mean, where are you but in the shadows of our prayers? 

I know the words about giving our cares to you. But tell me, how, exactly, does that work again? Because I still see a world that is filled with hate and greed and threatening to implode. I see addiction and disease taking our young and weak. And I’m one of the weak. I am so weak.

I see death and lies and rude people who don’t even know how to say excuse me. I just don’t see you. And I need to see you, right here. Because I believe you are. 

I wonder if giving all of this stuff to you is seeing you? I meant it when I said I’m not sure how that works because I’ve been holding your stuff for a really long time. We’re in this together right? I want to help and it’s hard to realize you don’t need my help. The lines get blurry between that whole faith and works thing because I’ve got the works down pretty good.

I like the notion of your will not mine. but honestly, when do I really let it be your will?

Step One: admit that you are powerless to do the right thing and that your life is unmanageable. 

I’m not an alcoholic. Not an addict. But I’m drunk on caring for things that are out of my control. I’m enticed by control, my drug of choice. All the things in neat little rows working as they should. Life, as I would have it. 

Instead of the familiar verses about casting my cares on the Lord because he cares for me, I find my comfort in the first steps of Alcoholics Anonymous, principles built on the bible, for wayward souls like me.

9 thoughts on “It’s Yours Not Mine

  1. Lesley says:

    Debby, I relate to all of this! I try to give over control to God but I am far too quick to take it back and it is far too easy for worry to creep back in.
    I’m glad I read your post today – I found it at Linda’s. I have missed you! You and your blog just seemed to vanish. I hope you are doing ok and I’m glad you are still writing.

  2. Trudy Den Hoed says:

    Hi Debby. I’m so glad Linda linked to your post. I love the Brennan Manning quote underneath your photo. It seems I recently read it in The Furious Longing of God. It was one of my favorites. I love this post, too. It resonates with me. I had to refresh my mind with those AA principles, and yes, they truly apply to our drunkenness of caring too much for things that are out of our control. This is a great reminder for me. Sometimes I feel so powerless by all the things that are happening in this world and all the people that are hurting, and it weighs me down. But I have to remember that all power belongs to God, and He is still in control in this world. Thank you. Love and blessings to you!

We'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.