Reflection

It takes a lot to impress me. I am not amazed by the usual. I have no burning desire to see Les Miserables or Cirque de Soleil. Sometimes I feel like a grown up kill-joy never really knowing why until reading Andy Stanley’s book Deep and Wide where he says it’s an attribute of all preacher’s kids. That explains a lot.

The sky reflected in a building in Las Vegas

The sky reflected in a building in Las Vegas

IMG_4491

Another word for another day of experiencing wonder: reflection. Many ways to take this….reflecting on His many wonders, the wonder of physical reflection in nature but here Margaret Feinberg talks about reflecting “on those things that prevent you from awakening to the wonders of God.”

I think I’m open to seeing these wonders but I expect him to do all the work. As if I sit back just waiting for God to perform the next wonder. “I need a wonder today God.” Is there a bigger part I need to play? What about those days that are ho-hum? The days called Monday – Friday, 9 – 5, or the days called “my life”. I lost too many to those times and I don’t want to lose more. There is too much wonder surrounding me to miss it. I want to see it. To have it overtake me. For that to happen I have to give myself over to the wonder.

IMG_6219

HorseWater

Prosser, WA

Prosser, WA

Today, Eric stood in my office listening to the background track of How He Loves Us, a song he’ll be singing Sunday. During the bridge the music stops for only the vocals to be sung. There, at my desk, leaning over the MacBook Pro this recovering addict sang softly and clearly and beautifully and chill bumps spread across my arms. Wonderstruck! I can’t wait to hear him sing Sunday and for God’s own Spirit to move through our hearts.

IMG_5050

Before I took off my sunglasses or got to my office Carson was calling out about the chaplains fish that died. James chimed in as the “fish” story grew and laughter crept across their faces. Walking on to my office I hear the story of Jonah being read to our intake counselor (the alleged fish killer) by one of our graduates. All of these staff members in recovery. All of them with responsibilities that often call for hard decisions. All of them laughing with each other. Wonderstruck! Yes, those seemingly ordinary acts become wonder to me because they are only because of God’s restorative power.

Thank you, Father, for the wonders, YOUR wonders. Remove any obstacle that may prevent me from experiencing these joys. Thank you for allowing me to reflect your greatness as the best wonders come from you.

 

8 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. Bree Durham says:

    One more time, your writings are brilliant, and insightful. I too, must keep my mind staid on “Thee”. The wonders of His Greatness. The sound of beautiful music.(I’m listening to the group “Selah” album title Hope of the Broken World). God is good all the time, everyday, every moment; if I can keep my mind “staid on Thee”.

    I would love to see Cirque…..!! Live of course.

    • Debby says:

      Oh aunt Bree, I haven’t heard those words in such a long time….takes me back and am glad they are tucked in my memory: “staid on Thee” Remember the old SA song “Fixed on Thee”? No matter how it’s said, that seems to be the key: setting our mind on Him. Enjoy your album…I know you will 😉

  2. Debbie says:

    I think I do reasonably well with daily grace (not always, but generally) and gratitude, but I fall way short in the awe and amazement category.
    Wonder. Yes, I need more wonder.
    In this physical desert, full of dust and trucks and mesquite, I need to learn to be still and filled with wonder at His presence. That could keep me in full time awe mode for a lifetime. Thank you for the prompt, my friend!

    • Debby says:

      Debbie, while the landscapes in front of us are vastly different, the one thing they have in common is there is little change. I find it’s hard to find that “wonder” where things stay the same. But for me, that’s part of the point. Finding wonder in the ordinary. Let’s share the hunt together!

  3. judikruis says:

    In the past few years I have prayed to have new eyes to see and ears to hear and like you – new things come to my attention. Some so small and unknown. Sometimes they go years undiscovered by anyone yet HE knows they are there and WHEN to bring them into the light…. (lost in thought….:o) )
    GREAT posts and thoughts dear friend. Thank you!

We'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.