Hope

“To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles:                                   which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.” Colossians 1:27 NKJ

IMG_6982

The shores of South Florida are well acquainted with Haiti. It isn’t an uncommon site in early spring for boats (some barely sea worthy) to land on our beaches. Boats filled with Haitian people, people full of hope. Their hopes in finding a better life in America.

Our county is a diverse one with the influx of Caribbean people strongly felt. Billboards advertising phone cards with pricing for calls to Haiti. Supermarkets catering to their tastes. Accents you learn to discern from Trinidad, Barbados, Jamaica and Haiti. But it is the Haitian people who seem to risk most to reach this land of hope.

100_1252

DSC_0372

DSC_0325

One of our supervisors is Haitian born. Her bright smile always, always, lights the day. But it was in the days immediately following the earthquake that devastated her homeland that I came to know more of her heart and her hope.

19843_1339146683353_1371728862_944537_1232928_n

Her smile had dimmed. When I stopped to ask about her family she told me a brother still hadn’t been heard from. She wanted to pray so we did. There in the middle of the sorting department. A nondescript area filled with clothing others had cast off. Women sorting through the bags, pricing, men stapling tags and hanging, all moving about as she held my hands and we prayed. She had hope. Bright hope. Espwa. Creole for hope.

I am blessed to work in an environment filled with people searching for hope and even more offering hope.

Hope is not reserved for select groups. Sheila believes more in the hope of America than many born here do. Her first hope comes from her deep faith in God. He is her hope. He reveals His hope through her. Through the men looking for recovery from their addictions and finding hope along the way. God’s hope is revealed in them. In those who believe in His hope. Espwa.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Hope

  1. Bree Durham says:

    Debby, Haiti is one of the missions of our church. We send a medical team there at least twice a year. One of our retired pediatricians even developed a food supplement called “medicamomba” for the Kids. Many different people with other talents go also. Everyone goes to help the Haitian People, especially the children.
    I also have a dear friend who came to America many years ago from Haiti. She’s a wonderful Christian woman who has been guiding along my path to Jesus. Faith and Hope are Her middle names, I think.
    Aunt Bree

    • Katharine Trauger says:

      Very beautiful post. We sometimes “don’t know what we’ve got ’til it’s gone.”
      I know when Corrie ten Boom went to these islands, she always was impressed with the level of commitment in the Christians there. And when my niece went as a medical missionary, she fell in love with the children.
      Thanks for a lovely, encouraging post!

      • Debby says:

        Katharine, wasn’t Corrie ten Boom an incredible servant of God? What a legacy she has left. I’ve not been to Haiti (yet) but had friends serve there for six years and I believe their hearts are still there. God is truly amazing!

    • Debby says:

      Aunt Bree, I know that little country continues to need all the help they can get. And they are so grateful. I may have an opportunity to go there in a couple of months. I’ll keep you posted!

  2. judikruis says:

    Haiti and Hope do go well together. “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” Heb 10:23
    Thank you Jesus for being the Savior or all – the reason we really can have great HOPE! I like your (yet)!

    • Debby says:

      Yes, they do go together. I feel like I’ve learned a lot from the people I know who’ve lived there but nothing will compare to what I will (I think) personally experience. I should be hearing something soon.

We'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.