Time

If I could save time in a bottle
The first thing that I’d like to do
Is to save every day
Till Eternity passes away
Just to spend them with you

Time in a Bottle, Jim Croce

IMG_4322

It was a cheesy song from my high school days and over played on the radio but we all sang along when it came on. Saving time, wasting time, find time, outta time, “got, got, got, got, got no time….” From songs to comedy routines time is a common theme, seemingly from the beginning of time.

SavClockTower

7d6b2be9459b4ed896b1bf8494d28ec5_7

Prayerfully consider what changes—including cuts and additions—you need to make to your schedule to awaken to the wonder of rest and a healthy rhythm in your daily life.”

21 Days of Wonder….the title sounded so alluring…Wonder. I need and want that as part of my life. But these challenges….to name beauty, to reflect, and now to alter MY time, MY schedule and MY routine…have made me search deeper than I would have thought. To write words that were so hard. And now, now I must confess my misuse of time. My squandering of it for my whims.

IMG_1669

Father God, if I am to know wonder, I must know you and I must spend time, take time, make time in allowing you to show me Your wonders. Forgive my selfishness and squandering. Guide me in your healthy rhythms of life. Allow me grace to share in Your time as all is Yours.

“My times are in your hands.” Psalm 31:15

 

15 thoughts on “Time

  1. Kimberly Vermeer says:

    “Rest and a healthy rhythm” are luxuries in American society. We trade them for the pseudo luxuries that money buys. Bad deal if you ask me.
    It’s a scam.

    • Debby says:

      You’re so right Kim. I’d actually written some things about all the “time-saving” things we have and how they only make us busier but I decided to not get as drawn out as I can do so easily. I might even go so far to say for some, busy-ness is an addiction. Yes, friend, it’s a scam! Thanks for sharing that. Important words.

  2. iamnotshe says:

    Oh Debby, Dr. Mel says you MUST 100% get your natural/healthy rhythm in order. Everything else is a waste of time.

    Being rested and “even” is the BEST use of time.

    I know you, and like you, we both think that if we aren’t producing producing producing we are wasting time.

    SO, i’m glad you reminded me that, even though i’ve been MIA at my favorite BLOGS (a hem) and maybe not painting as much as i like, I have been trying to “steady my ship” and be grateful for the luxury of “wasting” a little time on my health.

    So, let’s just think about that. Wasting time to take care of our health: Tick tock, schmick schmock. On the other hand, I DO love clocks and watches, but stop the clocks, i’m resting. XO MEL

    • Debby says:

      Mel, you put things in such a great way and I LOVE your sense of humor. “Steadying the ship” as you say, is the best use of time. Yes, yes it is! I’m so glad you’re doing that. I’ll follow your lead 😀 xo

  3. Katharine Trauger says:

    Beautiful. I think we all loved that song (or at least I did) because it said we never do get enough time to do all things that we want to do. At least, that was the idea that captured my attention. I was a new mom, putting my husband throught college. Sighs!!!!! But you are right. It’s all about what God wants us to do, and there is enough time for that. Infinity calls to us, but we are not long for this world. And what joy that we will spend eternity with the One who created time. Mmm. I loved this post. We feel a special attachment to Croce because he was on his way to a concert in our city when he died. Thanks for resurrecting great old memories, and for making me much more conscious of my minutes and hours. I’ve been too busy to read or comment, and have missed your posts very much. ❤

    • Debby says:

      Katherine, a little irony in a song sung by a man who had no idea how little time he had left. Part of what makes him memorable to me. Time seems to capture us all and few I know have it mastered. I think spending some time in sweet memories is a perfect use of it! Do that a little more, friend! 😀

  4. Bree Durham says:

    Darling Niece, Debby, This one really spoke to Me. Everything, Jim Croce; I haven’t thought of him in a long time. “Time in a Bottle”, “Bad Bad Leroy Brown”‘ Etc. Howevere your most profound quote “Prayerfully consider…..” Was written Just for Me, today!! I have never written down a quote from a biological family member before; but now I have. I think I will journal your quote today.
    In His Holy Name, Aunt Bree

    • Debby says:

      Aunt Bree, a couple of the men sang the Bad, Bad, Leroy Brown when we had karaoke on New Year’s Eve – what a hoot!

      I so love reading those things that just hit right at the heart. I enjoy filling my little journal of words with these gems. Glad to have been able to share it with you today. xo

    • Debby says:

      Thanks Shutterbug. I got so lucky with that particular picture. It was taken from the back seat of a car when I was in Baltimore last year with co-workers for a training meeting. There was NO time for sight-seeing and I was trying to take in as much as I could riding back to the airport. This was the keeper. Sometimes luck is better than talent (in my case!)

We'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.